How interpret the result

Feb 19, 2010 at 10:05 AM

Hi to all,

I'm new with this interesting tool, so I apologize if my questions could be result "stupid" :-) at your eyes.

I collected a sample log and I'm wondering how I can interpret percentile fields. Below a sample:

Name Min Avg Max Hourly Trend Std Deviation 90th Percentile 80th Percentile 70th Percentile
\\SPIMIDC016\Memory\Free System Page Table Entries 182,091 183,706 184,115 4 291 183,724 183,710 183,671

How we get 90th percentile, 80th percentile, etc... values ? If I try to calculate them starting from Min or Avg or Max columns values, I got different values.

If I try to use PAL Editort counter threshold (in my sample PTE warning is set to 10000), I'm not able to get Percentile column values.

If I try reading in depth Threshold properties, I'm not able to have more info to understand them.

What Std Deviation means ?

Thanks a lot in advance,

Alex

Coordinator
Mar 5, 2010 at 9:39 PM

The word "percentile" was the incorrect term for me to use. The intention of the percentiles was create new averages with x percent of the furthest outliers removed. I was told that this is not what percentiles called. In PAL v2.0, I renamed percentiles to "outliers removed". For example, "90th Percentile" was renamed to "10% of Outliers Removed" to better describe the purpose of the stats. I need to change the lables of these fields on PAL v1.x to reflect this change.

Std Deviation is Standard Deviation. In a nutshell, it is the average distance from the average. The higher the Std Deviation, the less reliable the average. The lower the Std Deviation, the more reliable the average. If you have data points of 0,10,0,10,0,10, then your average is 5 with a Std Deviation of 5. If you have the data points 5,5,5,5,5,5, then your average is 5 with a Std Deviation of 0.