Author's Picture in PAL v2.0

Coordinator
Dec 4, 2009 at 5:05 AM

In PAL v2.0 Alpha 3, I put a picture of me on the Welcome page of the GUI. I did this because I encouter people all the time who use and love the tool, but didn't realize that I wrote it.

Is it too much? I plan on doing the same for the content owners too. Thoughts?

Thanks!

Dec 4, 2009 at 4:11 PM
Edited Dec 4, 2009 at 4:13 PM

I think that would be a nice touch. Just don't go down the route of making it an 'Easter Egg' like the flight-sim hidden in that old version of Excel (and wasting code) ;-) Maybe put it in the help/about section?

Credit where credit is due; this is an awesome tool. I'm still reeling after 'discovering' it two days ago! It's one of those rare cases when you think "this is too good to be true, where's the catch?" but it *IS* true! I still can't quite believe it's free! Much Kudos to you.

I'm still new to performance analysis but this is exactly the sort of thing I've been hoping to find. At the very least it gives people a good head-start to find the "low hanging fruit". I'm sure with more experience it can be used to do a whole lot more (particularly if experts can collaberate and introduce further templates/thresholds). I'm really looking forward to seeing v2.

Now if only there was something similar for analysing sessions in IIS/Tomcat logs...

Coordinator
Dec 8, 2009 at 5:46 AM

Thanks. I decided to go with my XBOX 360 avatar picture with link to my bio that has my real picture. ;-)

Thanks for the kudos!

Actually, we do have a lot of "experts" who are the content owners behind the threshold files. I plan on doing the something similar and having their pictures or "something" to give them credit for their work as well.